Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

What type dry suit
divingbear - 11/12/2012 5:25 PM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 7

I have questions as to dry suit shell types. I have dove with trylam, and rubber, I liked the Viking seemed warmer, sturdy but more cumbersome, rear entery sucked. The OS trylam was light, easy to don doff, but doesn’t seem as durable. Any opinions on the different types, durability, longevity, etc, would be great.
Thanks
Ben
WarmWaterTurner - 11/13/2012 7:47 AM
Hey Ben -

I have been diving a DUI TLS350 for going on three years now. I love it! It is very easy to get in and out of. I do not use the attachable gloves - thats when getting in and out really gets complicated. If you have never tried a DUI or even a Whites, I would. Yes, they are a little pricy and do require more care than a regular wetsuit but it sure is nice being dry and toasty for winter fun.

Best,

Ben
Subscribed
divingbear - 11/13/2012 4:40 PM
Thanks for the info.
OUBobcat - 11/13/2012 8:09 PM
If you are interested in buying a drysuit...

1) go the the shops and rent a couple different kinds they have if they have rentals available. Can’t get much better opinion on a suit than actually diving it.

2) if not pressed for time or don’t need it this winter try some different suits at demo days. DUI and Whites both have demo days that travel the country.

I did my AOW cert in a OS suit and ya it kept me dry but just didn’t fit right. It felt like I had a huge gut I was carrying around. The waist was entirely too big. I went to the DUI demo and tried that and knew with the fit; that was the suit for me.
DiveBuddyChgo - 11/14/2012 5:06 PM