Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Dive Computer Battery Replacement
Green_Achers - 10/08/2012 2:25 AM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 4

Greetings,

I’m new to diving (just completed my Open Water dives and now have my PADI Card) and started picking up ’Deals’ on likely old/out dated gear. A couple of those deals were two dive computers... an Ocianic Data Plus, and an Aladin Sport. Both needed batteries so how difficult can that be?!

The Data Plus was a quick and simple exchange and it was up and running (leaving me a few hours to read the instructions).

In contrast, the Aladin Sport has been a real challenge. In part, just finding instructions and translating them into English was the first hoop I had to jump through. Next, the odd battery had to be ordered and then soldered into place - yielding the expected ERR that had to be rebooted - after a few dozen efforts and a kind email of encouragement from Terry Brady . In hind sight, I would have left this task to Terry as his prices appear very reasonable.

I finished the battery replacement by filling the mineral oil back into the computer, being careful to get all air out (because who wants bubbles in their display?!). To assure the bubbles all came out, I used a vacuum chamber (actually it was a food storage container with the vacuum top) to cycle a light vacuum and then release several times. This worked better than expected. I just made sure the electronics were submersed in mineral oil and let the vacuum pull the air out.

In case anyone cares, here’s the translated instructions that I followed.

Cheers,

Bill

-

Replacing the batter in a Aladin Pro

CCC November 16, 2007

and French to English Translation on October 6, 2012