Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

What should I be buying v. renting
Awenon - 8/22/2011 9:29 PM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 13

Hey all,

So, I’m looking for some ideas and suggestions on what I should be thinking in terms of buy v. rent of equipment. I own; fins, boots, 7 mil suit, shortie, mask and snorkel. I need to buy, or rent as needed a good BC, computer, regultor, and what else?

I’d like to do both NE diving (shore dives off LI), and the occasional trip down south.

Any thoughts on what I should be renting v owning would be appreciated, as I’m new to the sport.

Thanks in Advance.
JoePagano - 8/22/2011 11:53 PM
Just my opinion, I own everything. Diving is a sport where a faulty piece of equipment can ruin the day and possibly your life. So, I buy quality gear and maintain it carefully. When I travel I pay the extra bag fee and rent just weights and tanks. Another consideration is comfort, style and hygene.

If you love diving, and do it often, then get the most out of it.

Safe diving................ Joe P
Subscribed
lerpy - 8/23/2011 9:56 AM
In agreement with the others. Buy your gear, especialy the important stuff like regs. Buying your own you get to know your local shop and know the guy fixing it and servicing it. Don’t skimp either, spend the money on quality regs, afterall this is what keep you alive under water, its worth it. A BC try some different styles, and buying a used BC is a good idea to save some cash. I prefer a harness system like the Scubapro night/lady hawk, or a wing and backplate. These will help keep you more horizontal in the water. I personaly use a Dive Rite Harness with wing, and regs I use scubapro MK 25 with the s600 second stage.
Rich-D-Fish - 8/23/2011 9:58 AM