Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Scuba Noob!
Zosimus - 7/14/2009 9:00 AM
Category: General
Replies: 6

Hello everyone! Love the site Greg!
So I’m new to scuba, in fact I haven’t even completed my OW certification yet. I completed the classroom and confined water dives this past weekend, my open water dives are this coming weekend. I’m very excited to say the least. When I pass a mud puddle I have this strange urge to put on my mask and stick my face in it (just kidding, but you get where I’m coming from).

Even though I have a buddy that has been on me for years to get my OW (he currently has his Rescue), I thought it would be fun to meet new friends /dive buddies in the area. So if you are in the north Texas area, and you like to dive let me know! I would love to find more buddies that like to dive often, which would be blast and further my knowledge from some of you vets out there.

My instructor is Mark Metcalf at SI Scuba in Arlington, Texas. Mark is an excellent instructor. Him and his wife make the class extremely fun and love sharing stories and tidbits of information. Like I said, the open water portion of my OW certification is this weekend, and I have already signed up for the Advanced. I’m sure I will be looking at some specialties and Rescue after that.