Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Diving with a Seabob... anybody have experience with this?
JeffKells - 5/21/2018 2:01 PM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 4

Hello!

I’m new to DiveBuddy, but not new to diving. Nice to meet everyone, and see there are some real great folks on here!

I’m considering purchasing a Seabob, but can’t get over the hefty price tag: citimarinestore.com/en/seabobs-for-sale-prices/5024-...-for-sale-price.html

I’ve seen a lot of photos of scuba divers using the Seabob to get around, but was just wondering. Anybody have experience with this? Or is it possibly too much "equipment" to be lugged around?

Just wanted to see if anybody had any feedback on this? If it’s as cool as it looks, I’d be willing to fork over the money for one...

Thanks!
Eric_R - 5/21/2018 4:17 PM
I wonder where they get that speed rating from. I bet not dragging a fully geared diver. At least the shipping is free.LOL
They’re a few similar ones for way less.
theadventurejunkies.com/best-underwater-scooter/
LatitudeAdjustment - 5/22/2018 8:52 AM
They don’t show it being used with scuba. If you have ever been anchored to the bottom or on an anchor rode in a strong current you may have found it hard to breathe. If this is as fast as they say that might be a problem.

Might be useful on some of those long swims out to a shore dive, could even be your SMB as long as the carry down the beach isn’t too long.
Subscribed
Flbeachventures - 5/26/2018 11:53 AM
Dive buddy

Hello Jeff,

If you want to try out the Seabob prior to purchasing it to see if you like it, I rent them out.

My office is located in 17 S Ft Lauderdale Beach Blvd at Beach Place in Ft. Lauderdale.