Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Blue Hole New Mexico Questions
Llama123 - 3/24/2018 1:16 AM
Category: General
Replies: 1

Hello. I am new to this forum—if this topic belongs under another forum topic please let me know. I signed-up here to specifically inquire about Blue Hole at Santa Rosa, New Mexico, USA.

I am a novice diver: PADI Open Water certified, 25 dives at Thailand (Koh Lanta/Phi Phi), Grenada (spice island), and Belize (Caye Caulker/San Pedro). I am planning a brief holiday in May through New Mexico and Colorado. A friend showed me the New Mexico Blue Hole at Santa Rosa and I would like to spend a couple of days there practicing buoyancy and enjoying the meditative qualities of controlled breathing SCUBA can provide. I have some questions I hope someone here can answer.

1. Are there equipment rental options on-site? I will need to rent everything and want to make sure good equipment will be available.

2. Having only dived in tropical salt waters at sea level, I am wondering if I will need to (re)certify for diving in fresh water at altitude and in a dry vs wet suit. If extra certification is required, can someone direct me to resources to help me do that?

3. I mostly understand how to calculate dive times and correct safety stops etc but am wondering if there will be people on site that I can confer with who will make sure I am doing everything correctly. One goal is to become more familiar with some of these technical aspects that have been glossed-over during my ocean training and dives.