Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Need Advice About A Compressor
DryDiver - 1/24/2009 11:14 AM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 8

Hello,

I have been thinking for a long time now about the pros and cons about buying my own compressor for filling tanks. I do what I think is a fair amount of diving. I have been diving for a little over two years now and have logged over 200 dives. I don’t really know the number over that, my log book is full and I have not bought another set of log sheets for it. I would think that the cost associated with buying your own would depend on just how many tanks I would pay to get filled compared to the cost of maintaining a compressor to fill myself. If I take the average of 100 dives per year and then add to that the fact that my girlfriend will do around 30-40 dives with me per year. Her son will add another 10-20 to that. I come up with 160 fills at the regular price of $8.00 each (HP) That is $1280.00 in one year for fills based on an average.

Anyways, back to the questions....

1. What should I pay for a good compressor? I don’t want the bottom of the line, this is my life I will be trusting to it. But I also don’t want to refinance my house to buy on either.

2. What type of maintenance costs are there?

3. I have worked as a millwright in the past, did it for four years. Is the servicing something that I can/should do myself?

If there are any other factors that I have not considered and I suspect that there are, please feel free to point them out.

Any help is appreciated.
seawolfdiving - 1/24/2009 12:42 PM

Owning your own compressor can be quite costly. It depends upon a number of factors including fill rate, filtration systems, gas or electric powered, etc...

Maintenance is expensive also.

Check out this site, http://www.tankfill.com/compressors/Bauer.shtml

Indiana - 1/24/2009 1:15 PM