Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

tipping dive instructors
Shaz789 - 12/30/2014 7:16 PM
Category: New Diver Q&A
Replies: 18

How much should you tip your instructor for the advanced open water course? I want to make sure I am in the ballpark of average....
LatitudeAdjustment - 12/31/2014 5:39 AM
I tip DM’s and boat crew $5 a tank or at least 10% on a liveaboard but you paid the instructor for the course. I would only tip if he threw in something else.
Eric_R - 12/31/2014 2:42 PM
If the instructor went above and beyond what you thought was expected then a tip would be a great way to show your appreciation for their service. I would think 10%-15% would be fine for a $200 course.
Subscribed
SeaGoat - 12/31/2014 3:17 PM
As an instructor, I agree with the guys here. However, most instructors aren’t rolling in the dough - if I average out my hours, I make about $6-$9 per hour depending on how much time I spend with a particular class and when I mentioned it to some friends at other shops, that’s pretty typical. Most of us teach because we love diving and we want others to love it too.

That said, I personally would feel weird about receiving a tip (however, I teach on a military base so it might be different) but sometimes a thank you card, baked goods or a nice 6-pack are great ways to show your thanks. You can also send a letter of appreciation to their employer your certifying agency on their behalf.
Subscribed
Arieh - 1/03/2015 8:07 AM