Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Kayak Diving
Bonnie427 - 11/22/2013 1:56 PM
Category: General
Replies: 8

Been seeing a lot of youtube videos on kayak diving. Looks pretty cool. Does anyone have experience with kayak diving, and what brand of kayak would you recommend?
Agojo - 11/22/2013 4:08 PM
I have been using a Cobra Triple for 6 years in the Philippines (ordered it from a place in California). 3 person with 850 pound load capacity with empty weight of 97 pounds. Holds 2 divers with gear and a 3rd person to tender the kayak and follow the divers. You can see pictures of the kayak with divers at mayonviewresort.com (photos page), also on DB at http://www.divebuddy.com/photo.aspx?PicID=58519 . Jump into the water, roll gear in the water, put it on and dive, reverse order then paddle back to shore.
Subscribed
btw2459 - 11/23/2013 5:13 AM
My son and I only did it the once with our kayaks. We’ve got two wilderness tarpon kayaks. A 140 and a 120. Great kayaks. They took all our gear including two Al 80 tanks (each kayak) and they moved through the water well and when secured together made a very stable dive platform.
Subscribed
Bonnie427 - 11/23/2013 7:09 PM
Awesome. I’ll look into those. Thanks for the input. If anyone else has any others, don’t hesitate. I want to do this right the first time.
Subscribed
ScubaCrab - 11/24/2013 6:53 PM