Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Requlator selection for new diver.
opelika294 - 5/23/2014 10:49 AM
Category: New Diver Q&A
Replies: 5

Im new to the sport and want to purchase second stage regulator, but dont know what would be the best choice for a newer diver. I like the looks of the Scubapro R195 because it looks simple, reliable and I have been using something simlar to train with. Would I gain anything noticible if I move up to the Scubapro G260? My local dive shop services both. Feedback much appriciated.
Subscribed
btw2459 - 5/23/2014 1:08 PM
See if you can try different types before you buy is one piece of advice. Also make sure you can get it serviced locally. Another question to ask yourself what sort of diving do you think you want to do. When I bought my first regulator set I had completed the PADI equipment specialty course which helped no end in deciding my choice. I knew I wanted to go deep and in colder water than here in the panhandle, I also new I wanted a DIN rather than yoke connection. In the end I bought a Aqualung Titan LX Supreme which is a balance diaphram regulator. I’ve been down to 130 ft and it allowed me to breath the same as if I was at 30ft. I’ve also dove with it in Scottish water where the temperature was 44F.......
Eric_R - 5/23/2014 5:06 PM
I would reciprocate the local serviceability. I would also recommend trying out any reg before purchase if possible or talk to other divers that have been using them for a while that also purchased them through your local shop.
Subscribed
lerpy - 5/25/2014 6:44 AM