Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Equipment at Amazon.com
EduardoNC - 9/09/2013 9:57 AM
Category: Equipment
Replies: 32

Hello!

I am very new to the scuba diving, I am 1 dive away from my certification :).

I am planning to buy my BCD and regulator. I do not have a lot of money to spend on equipment right now and I have been looking at some dive shops and I am only seeing prices on the $2000 range.

I have looked at this item at Amazon.com which I would like to request some inputs about it.

http://www.amazon.com/Cressi-Regulator-Console-Octopus-Packa...;keywords=cressi+bcd

Thank you in advance!
Subscribed
Scuba-Smurf - 9/09/2013 10:19 AM
I’ve used the BCD and gauge when I was just starting out and was happy with them. Never used the regs. Sorry
Subscribed
Scuba-Smurf - 9/09/2013 10:20 AM
Congrats on your progress and certification!
RockRat2008 - 9/09/2013 10:31 AM
There is nothing wrong with that set all, with this stipulation. It is entry level gear, designed to be used as rental gear for dive shops and resorts. It will serve you will starting out, but if you dive regularly, you’ll want to upgrade soon (In my opinion).

I would save my money and look at investing in higher quality gear in the future. Even if you buy just a BC (you can get a high quality BC for $599 or less), or just a reg set, initially and have to rent the other one while you save up to make the second purchase I think you’ll be happier in the long run.

If you just want to have your own gear starting out then this will certainly meet your needs to get you underwater.
Subscribed
EduardoNC - 9/09/2013 10:43 AM
Wow, thanks everyone for the quick and detailed replies!
Subscribed
Scuba-Smurf - 9/09/2013 10:45 AM
LeisurePro are great! I buy a lot of stuff from there :)
Subscribed
EduardoNC - 9/09/2013 10:48 AM