Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Best airplane travel practices?
PugetDiver - 3/11/2013 8:42 PM
Category: Travel
Replies: 9

I am looking for information on how to transport my gear on an international flight. This is my first trip to a foreign country to dive; I am considering taking my reg and BC and skin in my carry-on luggage, so if my checked luggage gets lost then I will still have the critical gear and can buy or rent the remainder.

I am a total newbie to traveling via airplane (and internationally) with my gear and would appreciate any tips or advice or links online to information, along these lines. Also any insurance tips for ones gear is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Steven
LatitudeAdjustment - 3/12/2013 4:52 AM
Good plan, you want all of your critical stuff, mask, reg, computer in your carry-on along with one days change of underwear just in case your checked bag gets off at a different stop or like I’ve seen in some places where the connecting flight is a smaller plane and some luggage goes on a latter flight. A regular thing if you are flying to Utila!
Green_Achers - 3/12/2013 6:56 AM
I’ve read (and agree) to never check-in your reg/computer unless you’ve first kissed it goodbye. That includes the return lap.
WarmWaterTurner - 3/12/2013 8:34 AM
We carry on the regs, computers and camera equipment. Everything else goes in the dive bag as checked. So far - never had a problem.
RAWalker - 3/12/2013 2:24 PM
I fit all the smaller items Mask, boots, hood, gloves, regs, dive computers, Photo outfit and PC with it’s accessories between my maximum allowable sized roller carry on and PC backpack. The pack is accepted as my personal item as it fits under the seat. My BC, wetsuit and fins go into a checked large roller duffle which can actually fit 2 sets (when traveling with my wife) if not clothes fill it to capacity.