Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Just a few questions
Rudd83 - 4/11/2012 10:56 AM
Category: New Diver Q&A
Replies: 7

Im new to this whole diving thing! Matter of fact, I’ve never dove and will be taking lessons starting 23 Apr 2012! My question is this. I am an avid tournament bass angler and was looking at using this scuba thing as entertainment as well as lake research for fishing. I have a 20 ft fiberglass bass boat and was just curious that with the exception of a diving flag and safety gear, could I use this boat to dive out of? It will 90% of the time be just me and maybe 1-2 more people going so I wouldnt need to accomodate a large group! As well are there any boat specifications that are required for diving? Thanks in advance for any help with this!
LatitudeAdjustment - 4/11/2012 12:16 PM
You’ll want a trail line, 100’ yellow pollypro with a fender floating out behind the boat in case you come up in a current.

With that tag line for your gear please remember to remove your weights first and add air to the BC so it doesn’t go to the bottom before you clip it on! I know one boat Captain in Boca who found a nice set of doubles, regs and uninflated BC on the bottom.
Subscribed
Rudd83 - 4/11/2012 12:30 PM
Thats a great point! Will definitely remember to inflate before connecting it!
Subscribed
Greg - 4/12/2012 6:52 AM
You mentioned it would be you going by yourself 90% of the time. In a lake that is primarily used for fishing, that’s probably a bad idea. The viz will be near zero. You will run into sunken tree limbs, fishing line, rope and other debris that could easily snag you. And since you’re new to diving, a simple snag could mean death.